Snow Day

Adam was suppose to be at work bright and early this morning…7 AM…and just as he was getting ready to head out the door, the restaurant called to say they were still deciding on whether to open.  So instead we had a leisurely breakfast of eggs, hash browns, sausage, banana muffins, and french toast with coffee.  We talked away the morning and did nothing until lunch.  Then, after snow blowing the driveway,  Adam took the kids out sledding.  That lasted about 20 minutes tops as it is still icy cold out.  But I think the kids enjoyed themselves anyway.  They got to wear snowsuits and boots, eat snow, and make snow angels then come back inside to steaming mugs of cocoa.  Adam still ended up going into work in the late afternoon but what better way to play hooky in the morning!

And mom’s newly found most-excellent homemade instant hot cocoa recipe:

2 C powdered sugar

1 C unsweetened cocoa powder

2 1/2 C powdered milk

1 t salt

2 t corn starch

pinch cayenne pepper

Mix all ingredients together (I use hands to smoosh out clumps).  Put 3 spoonfuls in mug.  Fill with hot water (I add a splash of whole milk or half and half for a creamier flavor).  Top with marshmallows.

3 thoughts on “Snow Day

  1. My kids didn’t get to see Sean’s side of the family and missed your kids on Christmas Eve. But it was nice to just relax for a few days with nowhere to go and no agenda. Berlyn got new snow boots and played in the snow, which was pretty funny to watch. Kaitlyn was restless by Sunday. It was a pretty good holiday. And Kaitlyn still believes in Santa, so Lily would have been okay on that part, they would have just kept aguing about amounts. My kids got five presents each. (next year we might do just 3 as we’ll have another one to buy for). Hopefully we can get to Sean’s side maybe this coming weekend. If we don’t, I might call you and see if you want to have a New Year’s celebration at our house.

    Laura

  2. We still haven’t even seen Dad yet. So we still need to do Christmas with him. I still feel my kids got too much stuff. I spent all day yesterday organizing and feeling my insanity skyrocket! I need to go out and buy some bins on sale this week and more shelving. No wonder my kids can’t learn to be content! feel like even more drastic measures should be taken. And I feel like I need to seriously address the Santa issue next year. I forgot to do our Advent calendar on Christmas Day…the one day that Christ should be foremost in our minds! Call me about NY’s Eve. I think we may be having another family over here but you are more then welcome to join us…the more kids the merrier! And my kids missed your’s on Xmas Eve. It will all depend on the weather. Again…!!!

  3. I hear ya on the gifts. Right now I am teaching the girls a memory verse, “Every good and perfect gift is from above” James 1:17. I am trying to instill what Christmas is really about to them. I’ll call this week on New Year’s as soon as I know what we are doing. We might go to York if the weather allows.

Leave a Reply

