I’m taking back my house…

After running my hand over a sticky, grubby table for the millionth time…

After having little random who-knows-what-it-is-but-it-feels-gross-stuck-on-the-bottom-of-my-sock experiences walking through the kitchen…

After sitting on chairs that have a layer of goo perpetually coating them…

After finding too many dirty cups or silverware hiding under table legs…

After getting so tired of nagging and nagging and disciplining and nagging and more disciplining to stay on task…

I am officially taking back the clean-up-the-table-and-chairs-and-sweep-the-floor-after-meals chore from my seven year old daughter!

She has now been reassigned to folding and putting away the laundry after every meal. (And if you don’t think there won’t be a basket to fold after every meal, you are sadly mistaken my dear friend!!!) 

Our house is once again blessed. My kitchen is blessedly clean and I am not having anxiousness about the summer coming and dealing with bugs in the country. My tone is blessedly more gentler as it is much easier to have seven year old expectations with laundry folding (don’t care if they’re put away a bit wrinkled as long as they make it to the right drawer and our laundry isn’t stacking up by the hamperfuls) rather then kitchen clean-up. Her time is blessed because she has more of it. A win win for everyone!

3 thoughts on “I’m taking back my house…

  1. Demoted to laundry detail… Well… I’d like to tell you it gets better, but… Sometimes the 18 & 19yo’s do better…sometimes not. I remember apologizing to another family once for our crunchy floor… She said, “Oh, that’s not bad. We usually stick to ours!” he, he… next day someone dropped a splat ‘o jelly… stick…stick…stick… oh my!

    • LOL!!! Thanks for the Friday afternoon humor! I am laughing my way into the kitchen to make dinner as we speak (sure to step on something sticky)…

  2. Pingback: Simply Doing It « simply necessary

Leave a Reply

