Extreme Couponing or Eating Real Food on a Real Budget?

Extreme Couponing

C’mon….you know you all watched it! How they know us so well in what will wet our guilty pleasure appetites! Extreme couponing. I was amazed by what I saw. And, frankly, I was tempted. I want to buy $600 and only spend $5.97!!! I shouted to myself. But then my husband came home and I got a reality check.

That’s not savings…that’s addiction, he said.

Look at what they’re putting in their carts, that’s not real food, he said.

It’s all processed junk, he said.

You see lot’s of coupons for bread but not a single coupon for flour or any of the staples that allow you to make bread, he said.

And he is right. And I know that. So why was I almost duped? Because this economy is lousy. Because food prices are rising. Because my family of six kids are actually eating which makes my theory of a grocery budget obsolete.

We’ve been talking a lot about living by our principles. What do you believe? Do you live what you believe? So easy with kids to slide down that slippery slope into crackers and processed colored fruit ringed cereal and orange-died mac n cheez. They love it, they ask for it, commercials bombard them with images of it, and grandparents dote on them with it. It is hard to swim against that tide of false love.

So how do you do it? How do you set a realistic budget for real food? How do you cook from scratch, homeschool and still have time to sleep? How do you wade through the political mumbo jumbo of grocery store and organic politics? How do you eat with common sense and not get sucked into the latest dietary fad? My brain is fried trying to balance it all.

Adam helped me set up a menu plan. Now it is my job to figure out how the numbers work. I haven’t figured it out yet.

In the meantime, I will be reading some pioneer women who seemed to be paving the road for me.

Simple Bites

Nourishing Days

Keeper of the Home

Live Renewed

Chicken Tender

and, if the budget allows, maybe perusing this book:

Real Food on a Read Budget

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Extreme Couponing or Eating Real Food on a Real Budget?

  1. It is a delicate balance to constantly be learning. It’s more of a journey than a destination and I don’t think any of us truly do it all. The time I used to spend cutting coupons, I now spend baking bread with the kids and educating myself on healthier choices we can continue to make as a family. We have to constantly be trying to stick to our principles because we are always bombarded with things that go against them. It is so important to take baby steps along this journey to avoid being overwhelmed. We have to give ourselves a break once in a while and not try to know all, be all, and figure it all out. Only HE can do that.

    If it helps, our realistic budget right now for our family of 4 is $300-350/month for groceries and toiletries. Every November, over half of that goes to buying 1/2 a hog so we cut way back that month on everything else. We buy locally raised beef/chicken as needed monthly. We eat a lot of eggs that are raised by a neighbor. We just keep it simple for menus: meat, veggie and fruit, bread/pasta/salad, breakfast dinners, etc.

    Keep up the great work!

    • Thank you so much for the food for thought! Our family is twice yours so I think we would have to double that. Our current budget is $600 for a family of 8 including toiletries. I can do that w/price matching and buying real (not processed) food but haven’t been able to figure out how to do it locally or organically yet. It may just be a matter of taking a week to work on and taking a break from everything else. Thanks for the tips and for stopping by!

  2. Do you order through Azure Standard? I typically put $50-100 of our monthly food money toward my order from there. That gets us organic apples, celery, carrots, oats, grains, flour, vitamins, etc. I can buy in bulk through them for a great price. We also have a large garden and go to a local berry patch in season for what we don’t grow. I can or freeze as much as I can to last us til next season. That is HUGE for our budget.

  3. Pingback: Extreme Couponing or Eating Real Food on a Real Budget? | Sharesteading.org

  4. I just found your blog after searching “real food couponing”. I just watched “the show” and at first, I thought the same thing you did, “I wanna save like that!” However, I saw what these people were putting into their carts and the addictive behavior they were exhibiting. Then… it made me so sad for them. The poor quality in food, their health at risk… all to save some $$ (that in reality is not really theirs, but the LORD’s.)

    Anyway, your blog is right up my alley! I am a Real Foodie, homeschooler with a CM flair. Thank you for your wonderful blog!

  5. Pingback: Sharesteading Community | Blog | Extreme Couponing or Eating Real Food on a Real Budget?

Leave a Reply

