Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal ~ Fortified Goodness!

How to get a nine-year-old, always super hungry, growing boy who hates oatmeal to eat his oatmeal?

Why with chocolate, of course!

The thought came to me serendipitously while making No-bake Cookies. I had already been thinking about and experimenting with using more blackstrap molasses as a natural iron supplement in my baking. So oatmeal was already on my mind as I had made it using this potent old-fashioned goodie. But as I was baking cookies I thought, “If you added cocoa powder and peanut butter to your morning oatmeal, wouldn’t that taste similar to no-bake cookies?” Hmmm…

And, woila, it does! Even better, he loves it and asked for seconds (this coming from a boy who would rather starve then touch oatmeal).

But the best part is this ~

By making it with cocoa powder, blackstrap molasses, and peanut butter, I actually fortified it with all kinds of goodies!

Now most everyone knows the good-for-you properties of peanut butter but have you ever looked at the label of cocoa powder? ONE TABLESPOON yields 2 grams of fiber, 1 gram of protein and no sugar! Now combine that with the 1520% of your daily iron, calcium and vitamin A, magnesium, copper, and potassium from ONE TABLESPOON of blackstrap molasses and you’ve got yourself a heaping bowl of nutritional brain food for the school day! And the peanut butter with a touch of cream (or whole milk) adds just enough fat to satisfy until lunchtime.

Here is my recipe which fed me and five children with a bit to spare.

  • 2 1/2 cups oats
  • twice the amount of water

Cook to desired consistency. Then add ~

  • 2 T cocoa powder
  • 2 T blackstrap molasses
  • 2 T peanut butter
  • a touch of cream or milk
  • sugar to taste
2 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Oatmeal ~ Fortified Goodness!

  1. oh my, this looks yummy! We will definitely have to give it a try since we have oatmeal a couple of times a week.

    And I’m totally amazed that 2 1/2 cups of oatmeal feeds your whole family. I’m starting to get really worried about the teen years in our home. My three little boys polish off that much oatmeal all by themselves…

    I’ve been ‘eh’ on oatmeal for a while, so maybe the chocolate in it will help me to start eating it again too!!!!

    ~Heather

    • I don’t think the 2 1/2 cups will last long! My oldest boy, who used to be my pickiest eater, just downed two bowls of cereal today and is now constantly asking for food. My food budget has gone up again and soon my littlest one will be starting solids. Sigh…just when I think I’ve got it nailed down! *smile*

Leave a Reply

