The Simplicity of Spring in the Country

I wish I could post the perfume that pervaded the air as these were picked! 

I wish that we could just do this and not worry about dishes and laundry and jobs and money and security. 

know that because of the fall we must work. And I even know work is good…good for the soul. 


But it is in the spring with the singing of the first flowers, the praise of the first perfumed spring scents lingering in the evening air where simplicity stirs again in my soul and I long for it like a parched plant in the desert. 


Psalm 104:14-21 You cause the grass to grow for the cattle, and plants for people to use, to bring forth food from the earth, and wine to gladden the human heart, oil to make the face shine, and bread to strengthen the human heart. The trees of the LORD are watered abundantly, the cedars of Lebanon that he planted. In them the birds build their nests; the stork has its home in the fir trees. The high mountains are for the wild goats; the rocks are a refuge for the coneys. You have made the moon to mark the seasons; the sun knows its time for setting. You make darkness, and it is night, when all the animals of the forest come creeping out. The young lions roar for their prey, seeking their food from God.



Romans 8:22-23 We know that the whole creation has been groaning in labor pains until now; and not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the first fruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly while we wait for adoption, the redemption of our bodies.

I feel myself groaning as I watch the sun set knowing I will walk inside and have to give baths, do dishes, fold more laundry, and clean the mud off the floor. Let it be a groan of praise…a waiting on Him and knowing His promises stand firm forever!



3 thoughts on “The Simplicity of Spring in the Country

  1. Dear Amy,

    You posted right after me at Ann’s today so I dropped by. I know the feeling of never being done. Mothering and keeping house are both never-ending. I raised my 4 in the days before computers and blogs. I think I would have appreciated the opportunities to exchange frustrations and triumphs that raising children in the computer-age affords. It was good dropping by here today. It brought back memories of days long past for me. It encouraged me that you had had the time to take these beautiful children outdoors and snap some pictures.

    Blessings on you, your chef husband and the 6 little stories,
    Dawn

  2. What a lovely blog! I came here via A Holy Experience and am so full of delight – thank you for such wonderful posts & snapshots. Those flowers are simply breathtaking!

Leave a Reply

