Beautiful Redemptive Weeds

I’ll admit…I’ve always had a soft spot for weeds.

As a little girl I made wishes on them. I painted with them. I collected them. I gave them as presents. I studied them. I pretended with them. I imagined with them.

And as I looked today out our window I was mesmerized by the beauty of the weeds popping out in color against the blue grey of the sky before the afternoon spring storm rolled in. I looked upon our very own meadow growing in our own backyard and thought of all those suburbanites killing their lawns with toxic poison.

I thought of all the children who would miss this childhood opportunity of mingling with the weeds.

I was glad mine would not be counted among them.

One man’s trash is another man’s treasure.

And I like to think of Jesus seeing us that same way…not a noxious weed to be eradicated but a beautiful wild flower that, when planted where we were meant to grow, flourishes under his care.

Joining Ann at A Holy Experience

5 thoughts on “Beautiful Redemptive Weeds

  1. This is a beautiful post. We are suburbanites, and our yard is probably looked down upon by neighbors because of our beautiful weeds. Thank you for your words, now I don’t feel bad for our weeds but will look at them for the beautiful flowers they are. The grass isn’t always greener.

    • April, we also used to be those suburbanites…the only house w/the weeds on the block. But I would get handfuls of dandelion “bouquets” from my littlest ones every spring and I quit feeling guilty about it!

Leave a Reply

