Gardening Woes

May I just say that I suck at growing cilantro.

I don’t mean to sound harsh, but there are no other words to describe it. This is the third year we’ve tried growing this supposedly easy-to-grow herb. The first year it died within the first month. I thought, ‘too much shade…more sun next year.’ The second year it bolted too soon and died within the first month. Too much sun? This year I tried it in two different spots. I planted one in a container with rich dirt. The second I planted among the other herbs in full sun with compost worked into the existing soil.

Results: bolted and died.

Sigh.

My other plants? Doing fabulous. the thyme next to the cilantro in the container is thriving and so is the endive on it’s other side. The basil and parsley in the ground…nice and bushy.

How is it that I can’t seem to get this one plant right? I’m up for anyone’s advice.

4 thoughts on “Gardening Woes

  1. Me too! I have tried to figure out, over the last three years, why my cilantro NEVER comes up well. I mean, I have a sprig or two here & there but nothing you could shake a jar of salsa at. This year, I even bought an already growing cilantro plant, sure nothing could go wrong and… it died! I mean, really died. Good thing I have bushels of zucchini to keep me company in my cilantro sorrow. That basil of yours looks fabulous!

  2. That is too funny. I have a black thumb and the only herb I’ve been able to successfully grow is cilantro. Here in the Arizona desert it is a winter herb. It grew like a weed in January-March and then wilted away once our temperatures were consistently in the upper 80’s. Could it possibly just be too hot?

    (Don’t take too much stock in what I just said… Seriously , I’m the worst gardener in the world, although I’m blaming a lot of that on living in the desert. One of these days I’ll figure out gardening in the desert!)

  3. Heather…hmmmm…something to think about! Like a weed in the winter in the south. Maybe I need to start eary and grow in the spring or sow late and grow in the fall. I’ll have to think about it. Doesn’t hurt to try right?

Leave a Reply

