Read Aloud Thursday: Kevin Henkes

I was invited last week to participate in Amy’s Read Aloud Thursday’s at Hope Is The Word. Time ran away from me but I decided this week I would give it a go. I love reading other’s reviews of books. They are always so helpful in my library selections. So I am excited to share in this endeavor with other mothers who have this same passion for children’s literature.

This week has been a social whirlwind for us. Two playdates, two picnics, swimming, church, lifegroup, grocery shopping, a library trip, and two unexpected social visits left very little time at home. (And my house shows it!) So today was a day to just sit at home and do school. Unfortunately it was hard to just do that. I kept looking around at all that should be done by way of housekeeping and had a hard time just letting it go. But I knew I needed to. These littles needed momma time. So I lit some candles, put on soft jazz, inhaled, relaxed and grabbed some books I knew would put me in the right frame of mind.

Kevin Henkes is one of my all time favorite children’s authors. Today we curled up with Chrysanthemum to start with. His use of repetition is calming and I love that he doesn’t talk down to children. His broad use of vocabulary astounds me every time I read his books. And he knows the children will get it. He doesn’t pander to age range or supposed ability. This is what stretches a child and will do more for a well-rounded language arts curriculum than any vocabulary workbook can!

How can you resist lines like ~

Oh, pish,”said her mother. “They’re just jealous.” 

“And envious and begrudging and discontented and jaundiced,” said her father. 

We read straight through all the Kevin Henkes books we own which also included Chester’s Way, Julius, the Baby of the World, and Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Although I am also especially fond of Owen which is about a little mouse who just can’t give up his blanket. I don’t own it but will if I ever come across it in a library sale!

And, if you haven’t been there yet, go check out his site. Click on Mouse Tales and you can play interactive games to go along with the books. I see an afternoon project coming up!

4 thoughts on “Read Aloud Thursday: Kevin Henkes

  1. I’m not familiar with Kevin Henkes– I’ll have to check out his books for Jonathan! We’re just beginning our homeschooling journey– but Charlotte Mason and Montessori really resonate with me too. I’m looking forward to browsing through your archives!

  2. We’re fans of all these stories as well, but Chrysanthemum is a special favorite of mine. So clever and fun! Sounds like the littles were treated to a great reading experience with Mom. 🙂

  3. Saw mention of Kevin Henkes at Read Aloud Thursday and was wondering which book you’d mention. Chrysanthemum is such a great book to read to children at the beginning of the school year. We had the pleasure of meeting Kevin Henkes last year at a book signing. Very kind and slightly quiet demeanored man…rather like many of his characters.

Leave a Reply

