Charlotte Mason Grammar ~ Free Language Lessons

Looking for a Charlotte Mason Grammar book that’s gentle yet thorough? Something with substance yet delightful to look at? A book that  you can curl on the couch and read conversationally? Well, then do I have some gems for you!

Today my oldest daughter (7) came to me requesting the grammar books we used to do (from Queen’s Homeschooling). I stopped buying them because she outgrew the phonics book she was using at the time and my eldest son wanted nitty-gritty grammar. We switched to Barron’s Painless Grammar for him (which he loves and reads in his free time…one of his favorite take-to-the-bathroom books) and just allowed her to concentrate on learning how to read fluently. Now she is asking for grammar again and she wants that Victorian feel to her grammar book. She highly enjoys the Charlotte Mason picture study and oral compositions and narrations whereas that part was drudgery for my son.

But as much as I wanted to grant her wish and order a Queen’s book, I’ve made myself a pledge to use what I have and not spend money on more homeschool supplies. Isn’t there a public domain copy of a Charlotte Mason style language lessons book I thought to myself? Yes, yes there was. But only the advanced Intermediate Language Lessons by Emma Serl. The Primary Language Lessons I would have to buy.

 

 

    Intermediate Language Lessons, Vol II – Emma Serl

Oh, but what’s this? Primary Language Lessons by another author? Could it be the same? Would it work for us? I was very excited to find this set that covers all of the Grammar stage. I showed my daughter and she was excited and wanted to print it out today. I downloaded it for free, happy with myself for finding a solution when out of the corner of my eye I caught some other titles.                        

 

 

 Sheldon’s Primary Language Lessons

Sheldon’s advanced language lessons: Grammar and composition

And I started clicking and reading and getting very excited. Do others know this is out here???? A veritable treasure trove of elegant words and noble ideas and substantial, rare English usage. I feel like I won the homeschool lottery today! My only vice now is coveting the Kindle or iPad…how nice to skip printer and ink and download these 150+page books directly to a tablet for the young student to use. I see this perfect blending of antiquated substance and modern technology! Sigh. Next year maybe!

     Language Lessons: A First Book of English – Wilbur Fisk Gordy, William Edward Mead

Practical Composition and Rhetoric – William Edward Mead, Wilbur Fisk Gordy

I was very excited to see this Practical Composition and Rhetoric. what a perfect carry-over to learn and practice great writing skills…writing skills lost to most of our public school system today. I admit, being a public schooled child, that I will most likely learn as much as my junior high – high school student with this book!

 

 

Introductory Language Lessons – Lawton Bryan Evans

Elements of English – Lawton Bryan Evans

I know that sometimes following a more Charlotte Mason inspired curriculum leaves me feeling as if I’m not doing enough…what with shorter lessons, less subjects, less drill and a more gentle approach. Yet looking through these wonderful public domain treasures  left me in awe. We have lost the art of language. In our rush to get better test scores we have left behind words and ideas and language that shaped nations. Sure, we know grammar. Sure, we can diagram a sentence (well, some of us anyway). But can we take that technical knowledge and turn it into ideas and thoughts that capture the spirit and move us forward? I see very little of that these days. And I believe that may be why it is so hard (even for us…gasp…adults) to pick up a classical work and read it. We feel like we are wading through it and I believe it is because that sort of language doesn’t come naturally for us anymore. Reading it feels like going against the grain and leaves us tired and frustrated. How I don’t want that for my children!

Thought breeds thought; children familiar with great thoughts take as naturally to thinking for themselves as the well-nourished body takes to growing; and we must bear in mind that growth, physical, intellectual, moral, spiritual, is the sole end of education.”  ~ Charlotte Mason

P.S. I added all of these wonderful works to my Free Resources Page! Go check it out.

19 thoughts on “Charlotte Mason Grammar ~ Free Language Lessons

  1. thanks for these! in addition, searching for similar resources, I came across ck-12.org. It offers free textbooks through google as well. I was in search of some algebra text for my ninth grader when I discovered these!

  2. Despite the fact that this post is older, I wanted to comment that “With Pencil and Pen” and the multi-volume “The Mother Tongue” is similar to the above. Such great and well-thought out resources!

  3. Hi Amy
    Could I trouble you to let me know how to download these resources, I’ve had a look but must be doing something wrong?

    • Sure thing. At the top right corner (at least showing on my computer) is 3 little clickables saying: Plain Text, PDF (with an arrow in front of it), and EPUB (with an arrow in front of it). Just click PDF and open when it downloads the pdf. Right click and save to whatever folder to your own computer. Hope that helps!

  4. Thanks Amy, I’m on a Mac, I wonder if that is where the difference lies?
    Anyone know of a work-around for Mac users?
    Thank you
    Tracy

  5. Hello Amy,
    Thank you for taking the time to compile this for us.
    I cannot figure out how to download or even see the contents of the books.
    I am not normally computer illiterate but I cannot not figure out how to get these books. My only options are the buttons: Add to My Library and Write a Review. Once in my library, the only thing there is the image of the front cover.
    I am NOT using a mac.
    Thanks for any help you can offer.

  6. Thank you for posting this! We have been trudging through First Language Lessons and my son is about to loose his mind because it bores him so! My son will enjoy this one as there are pictures, and it seems it could be a bit more independent than the scripted FLL.

  7. Pingback: Free Charlotte Mason Resources for Your Homeschool | Free Homeschool Deals ©

Leave a comment