Unschooling, New Friends, and a Broken Camera

I’m sobbing as I’m looking at my camera and trying to ~ over and over ~ press a button to make anything work at all. It’s fried. Kaput. I have no idea what happened to it. One day it worked beautifully and the next I tried to turn it on, heard a bzzzing sound and then nothing. It’s stuck in the open position with no power. Battery works. Memory card works. Camera ~ sadly ~ does NOT work!!! I’m heartbroken. How will I live without a camera for the next two months until we can replace it? How will I blog effectively without it? I didn’t realize how much I’ve come to rely on this blog as a scrapbook of our life, capturing it in photos as well as words.

That said, we had a great day today. We met some new friends. Thanks to my new ladies bible class I was introduced to the one other homeschooling mom in Ashland who happens to have 4 kids my kids same ages. After class today we had our first meet & greet playdate. It was loud and chaotic filled with happy noises of playing and promises of being best friends. My house is in shambles but they left at a still reasonable time, Gabe is practicing for the spelling bee, the littles are both down for naps and the other three decided to spend the afternoon drawing with markers at the learning table. (Would love to show you pics of their beautiful drawings but, you know, that whole camera thing and all.)

It is quiet around here. That good kind of quiet where everyone is completely absorbed and involved in their thing. I am happily spending a bit of free time catching up on blog reading and feeling really comfortable that my kids are learning just fine without me for the time being. I love this aspect of unschooling. The ebb and flow of learning and playing, of scheduling and unscheduling, of doing and just being.

And, on that note, I will share a few pics (because honestly, what is a post without pics?) of the kids in their “play” this week. Very imaginative using the cardboard insert from my new mop box to set up a labryinth Mario land for their Mario figurines and Zoobles.

(Don’tcha just love the Mario cut-out pieces?)

3 thoughts on “Unschooling, New Friends, and a Broken Camera

  1. Amy,

    You can borrow my small Olympus camera. It’s just like your old one so you already know how to use it =) I usually just use it for camp bow wow right now, (’cause I don’t want the dogs to ruin my nice SLR Olympus). For my pics at home…and by pics, I mean the millions of pictures of my dogs posted on facebook…yes, I’m that girl..lol….I use my SLR. So, I would be more than happy to let you borrow my little camera. Just let me know on how we can meet to get it to you. I don’t know if I will be able to make it out there anytime soon. Anywhoo, I’m sure we can figure something out.
    -Kala

    • Kala ~ Thanks…you’re a good sis! I’ll be up in Omaha on Thursday and really need a camera for Friday’s Spelling Bee. Can I stop by your house that afternoon (around 4-5) for it? Will you be home? Let me know.

  2. Hi Amy,

    After spending a ridiculous amount of time researching about fixing this same problem in my camera, and trying all sorts of rather violent tricks, I bought new lithium batteries as a last-ditch solution (even though the old batteries still powered other things I checked them in). It just wanted good batteries. It would go from working fine to frozen open once the batteries got past a certain point. Probably because it was getting old and the lens had some grit in the works, or whatever… just sharing because it’s worth a try! I hope it’s not terminal.

    By the way, I’m Lynn and I homeschool/unschool in Kentucky 🙂 Blessings!

Leave a Reply

