Spiritual Weeding


I’ve been meaning to do a post about the act of spiritual weeding for over a year now. The draft has been sitting in my dashboard and occasionally I sit down and try to pen my heart on this issue. It is such a rich discussion and I think of it everytime I am in the garden. Yet whenever I’ve tried to write, the words never come. But then a very dear friend sent me this devotion that says exactly what’s on my heart beautifully.

The Lord is good. It is 5 in the morning and I cannot sleep. I am feeling anxious and I can’t put my finger on why. I read these words and He pierces my soul. Isn’t that just like Him? Leading me gently to just the right words I need. I encourage you to do the same today!

Before weeding.

After weeding.

A few thoughts while weeding my garden about weeding the sin out of our lives.

  • It is never too late.
  • Weeds come out easiest after a good rain when the ground is softened.
  • Sometimes you must hastily chop off the top before even attempting to pull out roots.
  • If you keep up with the task, the roots are easily pulled up, but let it go and the job is an uphill battle.
  • Sometimes you’re not sure it’s a weed or a flower.
  • Sometimes what you thought was a weed turns out to be beautiful and useful.
  • Taking out weeds close to the flowers/vegetables requires patience and care…one must slow down and be careful not to destroy the good plant.
  • Pulling out weed roots closest to flowers/vegetables is easiest because it’s in fertile soil.
  • Even if you can’t get to all the weeds, pulling some is still worthwhile.
  • Sometimes you must destroy the whole garden in order to get to the deep weed roots.
  • If you maintain healthy, fertile soil all weeds can be removed easily.
But while everyone was sleeping, his enemy came and sowed weeds among the wheat, and went away. When the wheat sprouted and formed heads, then the weeds also appeared.” ~ Matthew 13:25-26

5 thoughts on “Spiritual Weeding

  1. Your 2nd bullet reminds me of this:

    “Plow up the hard ground of your hearts,
    for now is the time to seek the Lord,
    that he may come
    and shower righteousness upon you.”
    (Hosea 10:12 NLT)

    Thanks for sharing about your weeding process!

Leave a Reply

