Assuaging Screentime Guilt (A 30-Min Blog Challenge Post)

So recently I visited this wonderful ladies site: Steady Mom and found this link: The 30 Minute Blog Challenge that piqued my interest then spoke to my heart. What a challenge it is to balance blogging with real life, especially when you’re trying to live an authentic life of real education with your children. Does blogging even fit in?

Some days I’m not sure. But then, as my dear husband pointed out, we now use all the hundreds (and I do mean hundreds) of random photos I take that my husband always says, “WHY on earth are you taking a picture of that?” and I always reply, “Well, one day I’ll scrapbook that!” This used to drive him CRAZY! I get to scrapbook, even if it is online and digital (although I am still trying to find ways to carve out for the other, tangible way as well but I digress…that is for another post). I am keeping a more accurate journal of our homeschooling journey and my family gets to peek in and see what I am doing whenever they like. But I do, as most of us homeschool mothers tend to find, get hooked on rabbit trails of linking in the world of cyber blogs. There are too many good things out there and not enough time to do them all. I have to be picky. I have to pray for discernment. And, most importantly, I have to limit my screen time just like I do for the kids. What better way then to participate in this challenge…thirty minutes to type, upload, and link then Publish wherever I am. I love it.

So on to my first post challenge ~ What better way to start then talk about a positive effect of screen time for our children? We hear the negative all the time. Here is the upside.

Saturday is our movie night and we picked the Beatrix Potter’s Peter Rabbit DVD series based on the book series after digging out all our books for the spring season. If you’ve never seen this DVD series, I HIGHLY reccommend it! They are classically done to preserve the exact style that Beatrix Potter spent so many years trying to get just right.

Watching the movie led to us reading a biography on her.

The next day I found my darlings huddled up in a special “clubhouse” on the bunkbeds and Lily was “reading” in her special way the whole series to Luc and Lilah.

I grabbed this other book we happened to find at the library and the kids were smitten and spent a good hour pouring over it.

Then they went around the house gathering whatever stuffed animals they could find to act out and play Jemima Puddleduck, Peter Rabbit, Tabitha Twitchet, Mrs. Tiggly Winkle, and other dear, dear characters. It was charming to watch and I was amazed at how much of the day was spent playing and reading this wonderful series. Everyday since Saturday has seen more of the same. Now the books are requested regularly and the animals come out faithfully and find themselves niches and homes all over mine.

So, is screentime bad for our kids? In abundance, yes. Used in exclusion to other play, yes. Not monitered or censored by a caring parent, yes. But sometimes…sometimes it just may lead to an unexpected rabbit trail that you did not see coming and the joy of childhood flourished in your home. And that is why as tempted as I am to dump the TV and the computer permanentally, I don’t. All things used in moderation and with proper handling can yield beautiful thoughts and actions.

And to all you other mother bloggers out there…please, give this challenge a try! Go check her out!

6 thoughts on “Assuaging Screentime Guilt (A 30-Min Blog Challenge Post)

  1. I’ll check this out, my son and I just started reading Peter Rabbit a few weeks ago in anticipation of Easter and he loves it. I’ve had to get three more books from the library and every rabbit he sees is Peter and every man in overalls is Mr. McGregor.

  2. “All things used in moderation and with proper handling can yield beautiful thoughts and actions.”
    What a profound thought for parenting. Thanks for this thoughtful post; it is really helping me think through our screen-time habits (which have been a source of guilt and resignation for me up till now).
    (30 minute mom)

    • Thank you, Andrea! Yes, I too (obviously) have felt the mom-guilt many a times, especially when I really do need to get something done and, in a desperate moment, know that a child in front of the television will give me the peace to accomplish it. My husband is always quoting “all things in moderation” and is much better at following that. I tend to swing in one direction or the other!

  3. Great 30 minute post, We love beatrix potter books, they do indeed capture the imagination!!! There is something about her drawings that inspire us into the out doors to paint to observe to imagine!!! Lovely fun!!! As for 30 minute blogging I love it – purposeful posting!!! Have a great week!!!

  4. i really enjoy your posting style, very exciting,
    don’t quit and keep creating for the reason that it simply just nicely to look through it.
    impatient to browse through additional of your own web content, enjoy your day 😉

Leave a Reply

