Knowing One Another

I wake up panicked, the images burned into my retina. I can’t take it back…this dream thing. Why? Why would I dream this? Why now? I have this urgency to see him. To wrap myself around him, clinging. I have this need…this deep-seeded need to be in union with him. To know him. To have him know me.

Sometimes we let dailiness slip in and steal this knowing. At least I do. Not the doing. That physical act is easy enough if you can slip it in between children’s occupied playing or before the night’s soft flannel sheets call you to just lay down in rest. But that knowing…oh, that tricky soul-binding, never-take-it-back-again knowing. That is different. That is more then the physical. It is the invisible soul string that holds two lives together. It is good. A gift from above.

Today I will not let the mundane of the day steal it away from me. I will give of myself…completely, fully, utterly give. And He will say, “It is good.”

The man said, “This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.” For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and they will become one flesh. The man and his wife were both naked, and they felt no shame.  ~Genesis 2:24-25

One thought on “Knowing One Another

Leave a Reply

